Ubisoft Will Remove Original Rocksmith from the List Early Next Week.

According to a new Ubisoft blog, the original Rocksmith will be delisted early next week and will be unavailable for purchase.

You can no longer purchase the game from Steam, Xbox Marketplace or PlayStation Store. This news comes less than a month after the publisher announced that its new service, Rocksmith+, has been delayed to 2022.

First released in 2011, Rocksmith has become a tool for teaching people to play guitar and bass using real deal instruments, a clean alternative to products like Rock Band and Guitar Hero. Those who want to start learning from this special edition of Rocksmith will need to purchase by October 17th. Here is Ubisoft's delisting announcement:

“One of the unique aspects of the Rocksmith method has been the ability to learn and sing along with the official master recordings of your favorite songs. However, as of October 17, 2021, Rocksmith (2011) will no longer be available for purchase in any digital store. Shortly after that, the Rocksmith (2011) DLC will also begin to be removed.”

The mentioned DLC songs (and all song packs containing these songs will be unavailable in November, but exact dates have yet to be determined. These are the songs that will be delisted next month (Xbox 360 DLC will be delisted earlier on October 17th):

  • Lynyrd Skynyrd – “The Free Bird”
  • Radiohead – “Body Hunters”
  • Black Keys – “Pinch”
  • · Boston – “More Than An Emotion”
  • Deep Purple – “Smoke in Water”
  • · Allman Brothers Group – “Jessica”
  • · T. Rex – “20. "Children of the Century"
  • · Three Days Grace – “I Hate Everything About You”
  • Vampire Weekend – “Cousins”

Strictly speaking, if you own this content, Rocksmith (2011) or any of the above DLC songs, you can continue to play and learn with the game after the removal date. You can also redownload items as long as they are in your purchase history or library. And this delisting only affects the initial release of Rocksmith. Later versions such as 2014's Rocksmith Remastered are still available and your Rocksmith (2011) content can be imported.

The delisting coincides with Rocksmith's tenth anniversary, which was released on October 18, 2011. If your math is as good as mine, you can probably determine that Ubisoft has ten-year license agreements and the time for additions is up. in the base product. Whether or not my assumption is correct doesn't change the availability of this early version of Rocksmith. Those who want to see the evolution of the series by version will not be able to get it digitally after Sunday. Even those with a disc copy of Rocksmith will have to register before October 17.

Rocksmith isn't the only game to be delisted this week. Rockstar also announced that all current versions of Grand Theft Auto III, Vice City, and San Andreas have been pulled from digital markets prior to the release of Grand Theft Auto: The Trilogy – The Definitive Edition.


Avatar for theprect

Sercan Erzincanli
The Gamer is the manager of our Station Media and TGS Pano platforms. It also produces entertainment and gaming content for TGS. You can follow his social media.

Write an answer

Your email address will not be published. Required fields * Required fields are marked with